Aged macular degeneration


Types of aged macular degeneration (AMD)

The two types of aged macular degeneration are described below.


Wet (exudative) aged macular degeneration

Also known as wet senile macular degeneration, this can occur due to leakage of the fragile blood vessels in the choroid (the layer immediately inside the retina), known as choroidal neovascularization (CNV). Wet macular degeneration is triggered when new abnormal blood vessels start growing from the choroid into the macula.

These new vessels are delicate and may leak blood or other fluids. These fluids can cause the macula to be displaced and get in the way of the retina, resulting in blurred vision. However, this situation is rare.

If one of your eyes has developed wet AMD, then the other eye is at higher risk to develop wet AMD as well. Wet AMD does not have varying stages like dry AMD but tends to result in more significant vision loss.


Dry (atrophic) macular degeneration

Also known as dry senile macular degeneration, dry AMD can develop due to the gradual deterioration of the macula cells. It causes a blind spot in the centre of your vision and reduces the functioning of the macula.

This is the more common form of aged macular degeneration. The condition gets worse due to the drusen (yellow deposits under the retina). As the amount of drusen grow, the dry form of macular degeneration progresses from early, to intermediate, and then to the advanced stage.

At this stage you would notice retina damage and vision loss. People suffering from the dry form of AMD can be more likely to develop the wet form of AMD.

Related topics: